SDTA Scholarships

Apply NOW for a 2024 SDTA Scholarship!  
Three $2,000 scholarships will be awarded in 2024. 


Qualifying Criteria:
  • A High School Diploma, GED equivalent or will have it at graduation in 2024;
  • Accepted into or attending a multi-year program degree at any accredited technical college or other accredited post-secondary higher education institution in South Dakota for the fall 2024 semester;
  • Are majoring in a degree/program or field of study that is useful in the telecommunications or broadband industry or which significantly relies on the use of broadband services and related technologies (examples of majors eligible for this scholarship can be found listed below and
  • A customer/member or have a parent or legal guardian that is a customer/member of a SDTA member company.
  • Previous SDTA Memorial Scholarship recipients are not eligible to apply.

How to Apply:

Complete the online application HERE or
Submit typed application via E-mail: or
Submit typed application via Mail to: South Dakota Telecommunications Association, PO Box 57, Pierre, SD 57501.

Instructions - Complete and submit the application along with:

A minimum of two letters of recommendation.  At least one from a teacher, instructor, or advisor. The other may be from someone who knows you well (but not a family member).
An unofficial transcript.

The scholarship will be distributed for the spring semester (2025).

2023 Scholarship Winners
McCoy Peterson ($2,000)
Brynne Larvie ($2,000)
Sara Peterson ($1,500)  

2022 Scholarship Winners
 Peyton McDonnell ($2,000)
Nash Colberg ($1,500)
Carson Palmer ($1,500)
The Scholarship Program is supported by SDTA and its member companies, including all of the following community-based rural broadband providers operating in South Dakota: 
  • Alliance Communications
  • Beresford Municipal Telephone
  • Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Telephone Authority
  • Faith Municipal Telephone
  • Fort Randall Telephone
  • Golden West Telecommunications
  • Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative
  • James Valley Telecommunications
  • Kennebec Telephone Company
  • Midstate Communications
  • RC Technologies
  • Santel Communications
  • Swiftel Communications
  • TrioTel Communications
  • Valley Telecommunications
  • Venture Communications
  • West River Cooperative Telephone
  • West River Telecommunications Cooperative
Examples of eligible majors or fields of study for the SDTA Memorial Scholarship include, but are not limited to: Telecommunications;  WiFi and Broadband Technologies; Information Systems Technology; Satellite Communications; Health Information Technology; Office Technology Specialist; Programming Specialist; Network Specialist; Engineering (Computer Science or Systems, Electrical, CAD, Software, Industrial, Communications Systems, Network Security); Technologies or Computers (Communications Systems Engineering Technologies, Computer Programming, Computer Software Specialist, Computer Systems or Software, Computer Applications, Utilities Technologies, Network Technician, Internet Apps Developer, Laser/Electro-Optics, Marketing, Network Administration, System Administrator); Technology Education; and Communication Arts (Graphic Design or Mass Communications, Commercial Arts, Multimedia/Web Development.)